2023 poll and politics of 25% votes in FCT

July 25, 2023 Idris Umar Feta 0

When the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, declared President Bola Ahmed Tinubu as winner of the 2023 presidential election, it generted debate as to whether 25% of the votes cast in FCT must also be secured to win, together with the two-thirds of the 36 states. Section 134 (1) and (2) of the 1999 Constitution of Nigeria (as amended) stipulates Read More

APC clinches all three senatorial seats in Kwara

February 28, 2023 Umar Bayo Abdulwahab 0

The ruling All Progressive Congress (APC) have clinched all the three senatorial seats in the state. Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) had on Sunday night declared the Turaki of Ilorin, Mustafa Saliu winner of Kwara central seat. He polled 109, 823 votes to defeat his closest rival and former Minjster of Sports Mallam Abdulganiyu Bolaji Abdullahi who scored 69,202  votes. Read More

El-Rufai’s son wins Kaduna North Reps seat 

February 28, 2023 AbdulRaheem Aodu 0

Governor Nasir el-Rufai’s son, Muhammad Bello el-Rufai of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has won the Kaduna North Federal Constituency seat with 51,052 votes. Bello defeated incumbent member representing Kaduna North, Malam Suleiman Samaila of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), who scored 34,808 votes, Malam Aliyu Mohammed Ahmad of NNPP scored 10,148 and Shehu Mohammed Faisal of Labour Party (LP) scored Read More

Kaduna: APC’s Abbas Tajudeen reelected in Zaria Federal Constituency 

February 28, 2023 AbdulRaheem Aodu 0

The Member representing Zaria Federal Constituency, Dr. Abbas Tajudeen of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has been reelected to represent his constituents after scoring 49, 595 votes.  Shuaibu Musa Indabo of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) polled 47, 419 votes to place second.  Shamsudeen Abubakar of the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) was third with 13,882 votes, while Hon. Suleiman Read More

2023 Presidential election results: Tinubu leads in Abuja 

February 27, 2023 Admin III 0

The presidential candidate of the All Progressives Congress, Bola Tinubu, has won the presidential election in two Area Councils in the Federal Capital Territory (FCT). Out of the three Area Councils declared so far,  Tinubu won in Kwali and Abaji Area Councils, while the candidate of the Labour Party, Peter Obi, won in Kuje area council. The Federal Capital Territory has six Area Read More

Kaduna: ‘Okada man’ wins Labour Party’s first Rep seat

February 26, 2023 AbdulRaheem Aodu 0

Labour Party (LP) candidate, Mr. Donatus Mathew,  has been declared winner of the Kaura Federal Constituency election. The Okada rider was declared winner of LP’s first Federal House of Representatives election in Kaduna state on Sunday by the returning officer, Prof. Elijah Ella.  He said Mathew polled a total of 10,508 to defeat the incumbent member and candidate of the Read More

Serving lawmaker votes in Damaturu, preaches peaceful conduct

February 26, 2023 Yusuf A Yusuf 0

The Member representing Damaturu, Gujba, Gulani, Tarmuwa federal Constituency, Khadija Bukar Abba Ibrahim, has joined her fellow Nigerians to exercise her civil right. Khadija voted at 005 polling unit at Damaturu Emir’s Palace in Damaturu, Yobe state capital. Shortly after casting her vote, the lawmaker urged youths to conduct themselves peacefully during and after the election. Kadija said she was Read More

Ayade’s wife, South-South women back Tinubu

November 27, 2022 Joseph Obung 0

The wife of Governor Ben Ayade, Doctor Linda, has restated her support and that of the entire women in South South region to the presidential candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Senator Bola Tinubu, in the February 2023 presidential polls. Dr Ayade, who said this in Calabar during the zonal women rally of the party in Calabar, weekend, noted Read More

Oyetola chasing shadows at Osun tribunal — Adeleke 

November 20, 2022 Admin III 0

The Osun state governor-elect, Ademola Adeleke, Sunday berated Governor Adegboyega Oyetola for approaching the state’s election petitions tribunal to upturn the results of the July 16 governorship election. The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) had declared the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate as the winner of the election after polling 403,271 votes while Oyetola garnered 375, 027. The governor had since approached Read More