Ondo names 6 communities for National Athletics Development Centre

Blueprint Whatsapp

Ondo State government as part of her preparations for the hosting of the National Athletics Development Centre for the south-west has named six communities to benefit from the project which is limited to two per Senatorial district.
A report from the state’s Commissioner for Youth and Sports Development, Hon Saka Yusuf Ogunleye said, Mr Governor has approved the six communities who will soon be briefed about their roles and the plans government has put in place for the future of their children and youths.
The North Senatorial district has Ogbagi Akoko and Emure-Ile. The Central Senatorial district has Oba-Ile and Idanre, while the South Senatorial district has Igbotako and Igbokoda.
Hon Ogunleye added that Akure being the state capital shall in addition have a special centre.
By January, the community lottery process to raise the funds to drive the training programme will commence in all parts of the state. This is to provide new employments for the 500 retailers.
However, the newly appointed Head Coach for the centre, coach Tobias ‘Toblow’ Igwe has accepted his appointment. He will head the entire coaching personnel working under the project in the entire region. He has sent in his acceptance letter.
Six sports will be delivered, they are Taekwondo, Athletics, Badminton, Baseball& Softball, Swimming and Wrestling.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply