In Ebonyi, Obinna Ogba, others lose out as INEC lists governorship candidates

Ebonyi map

The speaker of Ebonyi state House of Assembly, Rt. Hon. Francis Ogbonna Nwifuru, has emerged as the authentic governorship candidate of the All Progressive Congress (APC) ahead of 2023 general elections.

Similarly, Dr. Ifeanyi Chukwuma Odii, not Obinna Ogba turned out to be the recognised guber candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, (PDP) for the same general election in the state.

These names appeared on the governorship candidates’ list posted at the office of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Abakaliki, Ebonyi state capital on Friday evening.

Also on the list was the name of the guber candidate of the All Progressive Grand Alliance, (APGA), Professor Ifeanyichukwu Benard Odoh, his running mate, Anthony Chukwu.

Both running mates for PDP and APGA were also named.

INEC also published a total of 12 political parties that nominated candidates for the 2023 governorship race in Ebonyi State.

The Commission also published 16 political parties that would participate in the race for the 24 House of Assembly positions in the State.

The Resident Electoral Commissioner in Ebonyi State, Dr. Chukwuemeka Joseph Chukwu, who disclosed this while briefing Journalists in his office in Abakaliki said the list of candidates nominated by various political parties had been pasted at the INEC LGAs offices across the State, in line with section 29(3) of the Electoral Act 2022, and schedule of activities of the Commission.

He listed the names of the political parties that nominated governorship candidates in the state to include AA, ADC, ADP, APC, APGA, APM, APP, LP, NNPP, NRM, PDP, and YPP.

Mr. Chukwu further explained that a total of 245 State House of Assembly candidates would participate in the 2023 general elections in Ebonyi State.

Speaking on the voter’s registration, the Resident Electoral Commissioner, enjoined eligible residents of Ebonyi State yet to register or update their voter registration to use the window period to do so, as there might not be any further extension after July 31, 2022, deadline.

About Amarachukwu EgwuAgha, Abakaliki

View all posts by Amarachukwu EgwuAgha, Abakaliki →