Breaking: Niger coupists name Ministers

Niger’s coupists have named a 21-man list of Ministers in the new government.

Recall that the military leaders had earlier formed a new government despite ECOWAS sanctions.

Mahamane Roufai Laouali, who was cited as the “secretary-general of the government,” read out the names on state television on Thursday, without specifying any further plans.

Amongst those newly announced ministers are three of the generals who actively participated at July 26, 2023 removal of democratically elected President Mohamed Bazoum.

They were named ministers of defence, interior and sports in the government, which is about half the size of the previous one.

Details loading…

Blueprint Whatsapp