Iheanacho, Boniface out as Peseiro unveils Super Eagles squad vs Zimbabwe in 2026 World Cup qualifier

Coach Jose Peseiro has released the Super Eagles Starting XI against Zimbabwe, a match scheduled for Huwe stadium on Sunday.

After a disappointing 1-1 draw against lowly-rated Lesotho in Uyo on Thursday, the Super Eagles of Nigeria will be all out for a redemption when they lock horns with the Warriors of Zimbabwe in their second group match of the 2026 FIFA World Cup qualifiers.

The three-time African champions need a win to get their qualification hopes for the 2026 FIFA World Cup back on track, and that is not expected to come easy against a resolute Zimbabwe side.

Coach Jose Peseiro has tweaked the squad that played a lustre less 1-1 against Lesotho three ago at the Godswill Akpabio stadium.

The under-fire coach, has made wholesale changes to the attacking line as the trio of Moses Simon, Nathan Tella and Terrem Moffi as they replaced Victor Boniface, Ademola Lookman, and injured Taiwo Awoniyi.

The coach also introduced Ola Aina in the defence line, to replace Osayi Samuel on the right back while Kelechi Iheanacho lost his place in the midfield to Joe Aribo.

See official starting 11

Francis Uzoho

Ola Aina

Semi Ajayi

Calvin Bassey

Bruno Onyemaechi

Frank Onyeka

Alex Iwobi

Nathan Tella

Moses Simon

Joseph Aribo

Terem Moffi

UNI Agric Markurdi
Blueprint Whatsapp