In Zamfara, Blueprint man, others emerge as NUJ correspondents chapel leaders

The Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ) Correspondents Chapel Zamfara State Council on Saturday elected new leaders to serve for the next three years.

Among them is the Blueprint correspondent Sanusi Muhammad who emerged as Treasurer unopposed.

Speaking at the end of election held at the state secretariat of the union in Gusau, the chairman of credential committee, Comrade. Ibrahim Kanoma, described the exercise as free, fair and credible.

According to him, the election was conducted for only secretary and vice chairmanship positions, while the positions of the chairman, treasurer, financial secretary and auditor were unopposed respectively.

Those elected are Sani Haruna Dutsinma of the Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria (FRCN) as chairman, Shu’aibu Ibrahim of Triumph Newspaper and Albishir as Vice chairman, Ibrahim Ahmad Gada of the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) as Secretary, Sanusi Muhammad of the Blueprint Newspaper as treasurer, Hussaini Yero of Leadership Ayau as financial secretary while Abdulrahman Chakwa of the DITV emerged as auditor.

The immediate past chairman of the chapel, Salisu Zakari Maradun, had stepped down for the newly elected chairman few minutes before the commencement of the election.

In his acceptance speech, the newly elected chairman Sani Haruna Dutsinma commended the efforts of the credentials committee and pledged to carry every member of the chapel along for the development of the state and NUJ in general.