Delta upgrades 3 tertiary institutions to varsities

Delta state government, Wednesday, said it has upgraded polytechnic and college of education to universities in the state to accommodate students who are qualified, but have no space for admission.

Briefing newsmen in Asaba, the Delta state capital, the state Commissioner for Higher Education, Professor Patrick Muoboghare, said the College of Education, Agbor would transform to University of Education; Delta State Polytechnic Ozoro, University of Science and Technology; while the Delta State University Anwai Campus will transform to University of Science and Agriculture.

According to Prof. Muoboghare, “For the 2019/2020 admission exercise, 25,896 candidates chose the Delta State University Abraka as first choice. Out of this number, 22, 358 qualified, applied for and wrote the post UTME examination.

“Only 4,854 could find space, leaving the remaining 21,042 candidates stranded and almost hopeless.

“These are the ones who in an attempt to avoid staying idle at home, find themselves in various expensive sub-degree programmes in the universities.

“We need to provide for these qualified and ambitious children and this we are doing through the establishment of new universities by upgrading three existing tertiary institutions.”

He said about 500 public secondary schools and more than that number of private secondary schools turn out SS3 graduates every year in the state.