Zamfara senators, Nwaoboshi deplete PDP in Senate to 38

The membership of senators on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party ( PDP) in the senate, got depleted from 42 to 38 in plenary on Wednesday.

Those who officially defected as stated in separate letters written to the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan and read to senators are the Deputy Minority Whip , Senator Sahabi Ya’u ( Zamfara North), Senator Lawali Hassan Anka (Zamfara West) and Senator Peter Nwaoboshi (Delta North).

The three Senators in their separate letters, hinged their defections from PDP to APC on alleged crisis rocking the PDP in their respective states.

It will be recalled that Senator Mohammed Hassan (Zamfara Central), had on Tuesday defected from PDP through a letter written to that effect and also on alleged crisis rocking the party in Zamfara state.

Expectedly, the four senators after announcement of their defections, moved from the left side of the aisle in the chamber to the right side.

With the defections, the total number of PDP Senators in the Senate now is 38 while that of APC is 70.

Senator Ifeanyi Ubah (Anambra South) of the Young Progressives Party ( YPP), makes up the 109 seats in the Senate.

Before the recent defections, PDP which had 44 Senators in June 2019 at the take off of the 9th Senate, had earlier lost Senator Elisha Cliff Abbo ( Adamawa North) to the APC last year .

Blueprint Whatsapp