Tinubu approves upgrade of 16 key healthcare infrastructure nationwide

President Bola Tinubu has approved the immediate upgrade of key health infrastructure and equipment across the six geo-political zones of the country. 

President Tinubu, in a statement issued by his Special Adviser on Media and Publicity, Ajuri Ngelale, said the projects are in line with his administration’s vision of overhauling the health and social welfare sector for enhanced service delivery to all Nigerians.

The projects, categorised into two sections, six teaching hospitals and 10 other critical healthcare facilities, distributed across geopolitical zones, will see the selected institutions receiving upgrades and re-equipment with state-of-the-art medical facilities. 

It also disclosed that the projects would be carried out by the Federal Ministry of Health and Social Welfare, in collaboration with the Nigeria Sovereign Investment Authority (NSIA). 

The approved projects, according to the statement, were conceived as part of Tinubu’s bid to ensure that world class cancer diagnosis and care is accessible across the country. 

While the teaching hospitals are for the establishment of oncology and nuclear medicine centres per facility, the ten healthcare service expansion projects will be across the fields of radiology, clinical pathology, medical and radiation oncology, and cardiac catheterization

According to the statement, the six teaching hospitals include University of Benin Teaching Hospital, Benin, (South-south); Ahmadu Bello University Teaching Hospital, Zaria (Northwest); University of Nigeria (Nsukka) Teaching Hospital (Southeast); Federal Teaching Hospital, Katsina (Northwest); University of Jos Teaching Hospital, Jos (North-central); and Lagos University Teaching Hospital, Lagos (Southwest). 

The 10 critical healthcare facilities to receive service expansion projects are Northwest – Reference Hospital, Kaduna (Radiology, clinical pathology, medical and radiation oncology); Southeast – Medical Diagnostic Centre Complex, Enugu (Radiology, clinical pathology, medical & radiation oncology); Northwest – Usman Danfodiyo University Teaching Hospital, Sokoto (Diagnostic and intervention radiology, clinical pathology, and cardiac catheterisation); Southwest – University College Hospital, Ibadan (Diagnostic and intervention radiology, clinical pathology, and cardiac catheterization); and South-south – University of Uyo Teaching Hospital (Radiology and clinical pathology).

The others are Northeast – Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University Teaching Hospital, Bauchi (Radiology and clinical pathology); South-south: Federal Medical Centre, Asaba (Radiology and clinical pathology); North-central – Harmony Advanced Diagnostic Centre Complex, Ilorin (Radiology and clinical pathology); North-central – Jos University Teaching Hospital (Radiology and clinical pathology); and Northeast – Federal Medical Centre, Nguru (Radiology and clinical pathology). 

Explaining the reason for the steps, the statement said: “Upgrading health infrastructure and equipment is a top priority of President Tinubu’s Health Sector Renewal Investment Initiative.”