Six Nigerians who won UK parliament seats

Six Nigerian-British found their way into the UK Parliament in the just concluded election.

The Labour party which won the majority seat in the parliament had the highest number. Eight British Nigerians represented the party in their various constituencies and four of them won their seats.

While the Conservative had four Nigerians with two of them getting re-elected.

Below are the six Nigerians:

Chi Onwurah (Labour MP for Newcastle Central and West)

Onwurah was re-elected as an MP to represent Newcastle upon Tyne Central and West for the Labour Party in the UK Parliament election. Onwurah emerged victorious with 18,875 votes. Before the election, Onwurah born on April 12, 1965 was the Shadow Minister for Industrial Strategy.

Kemi Badenoch (Saffron Walden)

Badenoch was re-elected as a Conservative Party member of Parliament despite a landslide loss of the Tories to the Labour Party. She won with 19,360 votes defeating her main challenger, Labour’s Issy Waiter, who garnered 16,750 votes.

Kate Osamor (Edmonton)

Osamor, 55, served as Member of Parliament for Edmonton from 2015 until the seat’s abolition in 2024. She was Shadow Secretary of State for International Development from 2016 to 2018.

Florence Eshalomi (Vauxhall and Camberwell Green)

Eshalomi served as Member of Parliament for Vauxhall from 2019 until the seat’s abolition in 2024. The 43-year-old is a member of the Labour and Co-operative parties, she was Member of the London Assembly for Lambeth and Southwark from 2016 to 2021.

Taiwo Owatemi (Coventry North West)

Taiwo Owatemi, also won the UK Parliament election in Coventry North West for the Labour Party. Owatemi, 32, polled 19,696 votes to defeat her main rival, Tom Mercer from the Tories, who secured 8,522 votes. She served as the Shadow Minister for Women and Equalities from September 2021 to September 2022.

Bayo Alaba (Southend East and Rochford)

Bayo Alaba, won the Southend East and Rochford for Labour Party. He got 15,395 votes against the Conservative Party’s candidate, Gavin Haran with 11,368 votes.