Senate bars first timers from vying for presiding positions 


The Senate Tuesday blocked first termers from contesting for the positions of President or Deputy President of the Senate as Senator Abdulaziz Yari did in June this year during inauguration of the 10th Senate.

Senator Yari (APC Zamfara West), had on account of being a member of the House of Representatives during the 6th National Assembly used his ranking status to contest against Senator Godswill Akpabio (APC Akwa Ibom Northwest) for position of Senate President which he  lost.

But the red chamber on Tuesday effected blockage against such contest in subsequent senate by amending its rules, making first termers in the senate ineligible for positions of President and Deputy President, regardless of previous  legislative experience in the House of Representatives or State House of Assembly. 

Specifically, the amendment which falls under rule 3 sub 2, 1, 2 3 and 4 states: “a senator vying for the office of President of the Senate or Deputy President of the Senate, must have at least, served in the senate once”.

Other amendments made in the standing rules as differently put in motion by the Senate Leader, Opeyemi Bamidele (APC Ekiti Central),  and seconded by the Minority Leader Senator Simon  Mwadkwon  (PDP Plateau North) were for reflection of functions and jurisdictions of new standing committees created in August.

The Senate had on the 7th of August this year, increased its standing committees from 63 to 74.

However, none of the committees, is yet to be inaugurated in line with laid down procedures and practices.

Blueprint Whatsapp