Pictures: 9 schools take part in commonwealth grassroots programme

Up to nine Secondary Schools drawn from across the Amuwo Ododin Area of Lagos State featured at the 2023 Commonwealth Grassroots Sports Development programme held at the Olympafrica Centre, Amuwo Odofin, Lagos.

The schools include Sanya Senior Secondary School, Covenant Child Academy, Meritplace College, John Kennedy International School, Westminster College, Ijeshatedo Senior Secondary School, Prestige School, God’s Own Private School and Andrew Brightfield School.

A press statement by the Public Relations Officer of Nigeria Olympic Committee said the President of the Commonwealth Games Nigeria (CGN), Engr. Habu Ahmed Gumel, who was represented by the Secretary-General, Mr Tunde Popoola, in a keynote address, commended all the schools that took part in the one day programme.

According to the statement, “He informed that the programme was a baby of the Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF), the body, responsible for the direction and control of the Commonwealth Games and Commonwealth Youth Games held every four years.

“He added that the vision of CGF is to use the Commonwealth Sports Movement to build peaceful, sustainable and prosperous communities globally by inspiring member nations which are made of 73 countries and territories that were colonised by the then British empire.

“With cultural dance and volleyball among others on display, Gumel hinted that the programme was aimed at providing an avenue for students to know more about the activities carried out by the Commonwealth Games Nigeria.

“It was also to provide the needed platform for them to promote Commonwealth values, and social interaction among the students and avail them the opportunity to meet friends in a healthy competitive environment.

“According to him, showcasing Nigeria’s rich cultural heritage to the public at both national and international levels also forms part of the objectives.

“All the participating schools received certificates, plaques and cash awards while Mr Tunde Popoola gave special awards to the identified outstanding students irrespective of their schools.”

UNI Agric Markurdi
Blueprint Whatsapp