Petitions flood Bayelsa election tribunal ahead of deadline

There are about fourteen petitions lodged in the Bayelsa state Election Pettitions Tribunal sitting in Yenagoa challenging the outcomes of the National and state Assembly elections held on February 23 and March 9 respectively.

Blueprint gathered that the petitions are dominated by the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), the All Progressives Congress (APC) and a handful of other political parties.

While candidates of the ruling PDP have dragged their opponents before the tribunal in areas where they lost elections, the APC did same in places where the polls did not go in her favour.

A list obtained from the tribunal by our correspondent in Yenagoa indicated that the candidate of the PDP for Bayelsa East Senatorial District, Chief Blessing Izagara dragged the Senator-elect, Bishop Erimienyo Degi of the APC to the tribunal.

Izagara alleged that he as a candidate and many of his supporters did not partake in the election because electoral materials were hijacked by the opposition, he therefore prayed the court to nullify the election or declare him winner.

In Bayelsa West Senatorial District, the candidate of KOWA party, Mr. Akpodi Agagowei petitioned the winner, Mr. Lawrence Ewhrudjakpo of the PDP alleging hijack of electoral materials and multiple thumb printing among others.

UNI Agric Markurdi
Blueprint Whatsapp

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply