Ogun Assembly passes 2020 Appropriation Bill

The Ogun state House of Assembly on Friday passed the 2020 Appropriation Bill, retaining the budget size of N449.97 billion.

Governor Dapo Abiodun had on Tuesday, December 3, presented N449.974 billion budget proposal for the next fiscal year before the members of the Assembly.

The House adjusted the capital expenditure, leading to an increment of N2.1 billion for capital projects.

The realignment moved the capital estimate from N269, 132,349,884.46 to N271, 232,349,884.46.

The passage of the bill titled: HB. No. 032/OG/2019- Year 2020 Appropriation Law, at the plenary presided over by the Speaker, Rt. Hon. Olakunle Oluomo at the Assembly Complex, Oke-Mosan, Abeokuta, followed the presentation of the report of the House Committee on Finance and Appropriation led by Olakunle Sobukanla, who thereafter moved the motion for its adoption.

 The motion was seconded by Sylvester Abiodun and unanimously supported by all the lawmakers through a voice vote.

According to the report, which saw to the adjustment in the recurrent expenses of six agencies, capital estimates of 19 others and the revenue targets of seven agencies; the recurrent expenditure was slashed from N154.896 billion to N152.796 billion, giving a reduction of N2.1 billion in the recurrent expenditure, while the capital expenditure was moved from N269.132 billion to N271.232 billion giving an increment of N2.1 billion.

The bill was thereafter read clause-by-clause before the lawmakers by the speaker, after which the majority leader, Yusuf Sheriff, moved the motion for the third reading, seconded by the minority leader, Ganiyu Oyedeji, and the acting clerk, Deji Adeyemo, did the third reading of the bill.

Passing the bill into law, Oluomo commended his colleagues and staff of the Assembly for their dedication and support.

He said the prompt passage of the Appropriation Bill was a Christmas cum New Year gift for the people of the state and, therefore, directed that the clean copy of the bill be transmitted to the governor for his assent.