Official: Senate declares Umahi, Geidam’s seats vacant, swears in Lalong

The Senate Wednesday declared the seats of Senators Dave Umahi (APC Ebonyi South) and Ibrahim Geidam (APC Yobe East) vacant.

Declaration of Senators Umahi and Geidam seats vacant coincided with swearing in of Senator Simon Lalong (APC Plateau South) at the beginning of plenary by Clerk to the Senate, Chinedu Akubueze.

The President of the Senate, Godswill Akpabio, while declaring seats of the two former Senators who are now serving Ministers vacant, said: “Declaration of vacancies in the seats of Ebonyi South Senatorial District and Yobe East Senatorial District.

“I hereby declare the seats vacant. This declaration is in accordance with section 68 subsection 1d, following the assumption of office as Ministers of the government of the Federation of Senator Dave Umahi and Senator Geidam Ibrahim.

“INEC, therefore, wishes to commence the process of bye elections immediately.”

Recall that in August, Umahi was appointed Minister of Works by President Bola Ahmed Tinubu while Geidam was appointed as Minister of Police Affairs.

However, the former governor of Plateau State who also got appointed as Minister of Labour and Employment, resigned his position after winning from the courts, the Seat of Plateau South Senatorial District.

He replaces Napoleon Bali of the PDP who was sacked by the court of Appeal on the strength of litigation filed against him by Lalong at the election petitions Tribunal.

In welcoming him to the 10th Senate, Akpabio said, “Your Excellency, you are welcome to the 10th , where your wealth of experience in governance and passion to move the country forward, would be brought to bear.”

With Lalong joining the 10th Senate on the platform of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), number of Senators from the party are now 60, while the Peoples Democratic Party ( PDP) , has 37, Labour Party 7, New Nigeria Peoples Party ( NNPP) 2, Social Democratic Party ( SDP)2 and All Progressives Grand Alliance ( APGA) 1, totalling 109.