NWFL Premiership: Sunshine Queens relegated, Ekiti Queens survive

In a season filled with ups and downs, the Nigerian Women’s Football League (NWFL) Premiership witnessed a dramatic turn of events as Ekiti Queens narrowly escaped relegation while Sunshine Queens faced the harsh reality of returning to the Championship.

NWFL Premiership boardroom entrants, Ekiti Queens and Sunshine Queens, initially secured unmerited promotion to the elite league as part of the league’s expansion from 14 to 16 teams.

However, both teams encountered formidable challenges throughout the season, culminating in their struggle at the bottom of Group B. It is worth noting that the NWFL’s single relegation rule per group meant only one team would face the drop, meaning that Ekiti Queens, with a slightly better record (4 wins, 2 draws, 8 losses) compared to Sunshine Queens’ (4 wins, 1 draw, 9 losses), managed to survive by a single point.

Sunshine Queens FC, who finished with the lowest points in the group (13), were officially relegated to the NWFL Championship, the second tier of women’s football in Nigeria.

The fight for survival continued in Group A, on Thursday, with Royal Queens going down to the Championship, after playing 0-0 draw with Adamawa Queens in Gombe, while Naija Ratels defeated Abia Angels, by three goals to nil.

Rivers Angels, Bayelsa Queens, Edo Queens, Nasarawa Amazons, Confluence Queens and Heartland Queens are the qualified teams for the upcoming NWFL Premiership Super 6.