NPA MD, Bello Koko, bags 2022 National Productivity Award

Blueprint Whatsapp

The federal government has conferred the Managing Director/CEO Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA), Mohammed Bello-Koko, with the National Productivity Order of Merit (NPOM) Award in recognition of his repositioning of the NPA for improved trade facilitation, revenue generation and unprecedented remittances to the Consolidated Revenue Fund (CRF).

An evaluation of the reforms initiated by the Bello-Koko-led management of the Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA) undertaken by the Bureau of Public Service Reforms (BPSR) had classified the NPA as a level 5 “Platinum Level” Organisation.

BPSR Self-Assessment Tool (SAT) deployed in the NPA for the independent assessment, validated assessment and in-depth analysis of processes and practices of the agency returned the verdict of “exceptional performance with performance level of 91.25 per cent.”

The agency boss was nominated alongside 35 others in the individual category for 2022 as approved by immediate past President Muhammadu Buhari.

The Director General, National Productivity Centre (NPC), Dr Nasiru Olaitan Raji-Mustapha, who annouced the nominees for individuals, organisations, ministries, departments and agencies categories for 2021 and 2022, respectively, directed the awardees to pick their medals and certificates at the corporate headquarters of the centre from Monday, June 5.

Blueprint reports that the Award was instituted by the federal government to recognise and honour productive individuals and organisations in Nigeria in the year of the award for achievements made in the preceding years.

The center was established to improve the quantity and quality of goods and services available for consumption in Nigeria as a means for increasing wealth.

With this conferment, Bello-Koko joins the list of exceptional public administrators and captains of industry driving excellence and pushing the limits to advance the frontiers of national productivity who are being singled out for recognition and celebration by the federal government.