Nigeria’s Golden Eaglets storm Accra for WAFU U17 title defence, Manu names squad

Champions Nigeria will arrive in the Ghanaian capital, Accra on Saturday for the defence of their WAFU B U17 Championship title at this year’s edition of the competition that commences on Wednesday, 15th May.

The Golden Eaglets, five-time champions of the world, swept aside every opposition before them to achieve glory in another Ghanaian city, Kumasi two years ago, but failed to light up the Africa U17 Cup of Nations in Algeria and were therefore ineligible to compete for another world title in Indonesia.

However, 2013 FIFA World Cup – winning coach Manu Garba has been restored to the squad and will take charge of the ensemble that will tackle Burkina Faso, Niger Republic and Togo in Group B of the upcoming WAFU B tournament, with the objective being qualification to take part in next year’s Africa U17 Cup of Nations.

Garba will lead a technical crew that has the mandate of not only successfully defending the regional crown, but to continue to improve the squad for a great outing at the U17 AFCON and onwards to a probable sixth world title.

The Eaglets begin their defence of the title when they confront their counterparts from Burkina Faso at the University Stadium on Thursday, 16th May with kickoff set for 3pm Ghana time (4pm Nigeria time), before matches against Niger Republic on Sunday, 19th May (6pm Ghana, 7pm Nigeria) and Togo on Wednesday, 22nd May (4pm Ghana, 5pm Nigeria).

The match against Niger Republic will also hold at the University Stadium while the clash with Togo will take place at the Accra Sports Stadium.

19 Eaglets for WAFU B U17 Championship

Adekunle Sunday Adedigba, Sylvester Chizoba Chika, Daniel Ofonime Mendie, Destiny Samuel, Abdulwaris Yunus, Boluwatife David Ekishola, Ibrahim Damilare Abdulganiyu, Edward Oloche Ochigbo, Rapha Adams, Simon Karshe Cletus, Oreoluwa Olawale Agbenla, Okorie Marvelous Chibuike, Abdulmuiz Adeleke, John Ogwuche, Qurib Adetola, Chinedu Levi Dominic, Abdulmuiz Oluwatimilehin Oladimeji, Daniel Vowero Arierhi, Imrana Muhammad