NCWS to honours female ministers, legislators

National Council of Societies (NCWS), has disclosed that all plans have been concluded to honour female ministers appointed by President Muhammadu Bahari, and female national assembly legislators to serve as torch bearers for other female politicians across the country. 

The Chairman Media Sub-committee, Dr. Jumai Ahmadu, while briefing newsmen in Abuja, said that the President of NCWS, Dr. Gloria Laraba Shoda has scheduled October 24, 2019 as the date to honour 7 female Ministers, 6 female Senators and 22 female House of Representatives. 

She also revealed that resource persons have been invited to speak on the theme: “Mentorship; A Panacea for Capacity Building of In Politics and Governance”, at the International Conference Center (ICC) Abuja. 

She said: “Though, the number of in politics and governance both at the state and national level in this dispensation falls short of our expectation, but we are determine to encourage our fellow who are either elected or appointed to serve as torch bearers to others. 

“It is our sincere hope that the award will spur them to a greater height and work assiduously to change the narrative in the next political dispensation”. 

Our correspondent gathered that the ministers to be honoured include Minister of State for FCT, Dr. Rahmatu Tijjani Aliyu, Minister of Humanitarian Affairs and Disaster Management, Hajia Sadiya Umar-Farouk, and Minister of State for Industry, Trade and Investment, Hajiya Maryam Katagun. 

Others are Minister of State for Transport, Senator Gbemisola Saraki, Minister of State for Environment, Sharon Ikeazu, Minister of Finance, Budget and National Planning, Hajiya Zainab Ahmed and Minister of Women Affairs and Social Development, Dame Pauline Tallen. 

The six female Senators elected are Stella Oduah and Uche Ekwunife who both represent Anambra, Monsurat Sunmonu from Oyo state, Fatimat Raji Rasaki, Oluremi Tinubu and Binta Garba. 

Matched content

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.