Minimum wage, electricity tariff hike: Labour begins indefinite strike Monday  

Organised Labour which consists of the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) and the Trade Union Congress (TUC) has said it would begin an indefinite strike on Monday, June 3.,

This, according to them, is as a result of the failure to reach agreement on a new national minimum wage and the non- reversal in the hike of electricity tariff by the federal government. 

Presidents of the two unions, Joe Ajaero and Festus Osifo, addressed a joint press conference following the meeting with the tripartite committee on Friday. 

The two unions said the strike would begin by midnight of June 2 (Sunday).

Labour had during the May Day celebration issued the federal government an ultimatum to ensure that negotiation on a new national minimum wage was concluded by May 31.

The president of TUC, Festus Osifo, told newsmen that the strike had become necessary as the government declined to increase the N60, 000 wage it offered on Friday during the meeting of the Tripartite Committee on National Minimum Wage.

Osifo also said the strike was imperative due to the refusal of the government to reverse the hike in electricity tariff.

“We are hereby declaring the commencement of a nationwide industrial action, effective from Sunday midnight June 2, 2024, and this strike shall be indefinite. We are united on this and we believe that this is the way forward.

“We also demanded a reversal of the last hike in electricity tariff to N225/kwh back to N65/kwh and stoppage of the apartheid categorisation of consumers into Bands. We carried out a nationwide one day protest on the 13thday of May 2024 giving the government until the last day of this month to take action, but the government has not entirely shown any positive response despite the national outrage at this insensitive hike.

“In light of this persistent inaction, we, the Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) and the Trade Union Congress (TUC), hereby issue a notice of commencement of an indefinite nationwide strike to the federal government.”