Home / News / Masari, Wayas, others receive NILS fellowship awards

Masari, Wayas, others receive NILS fellowship awards

Taiye Odewale



The National Institute for Legislative Studies (NILS), yesterday conferred its fellowship award on some former presiding officers of the National Assembly for their various contributions to the growth of democracy in Nigeria.
Among the awardees were the executive Governor of Katsina state, Alhaji Aminu Bello Masari, who served as the Speaker of the House of Representatives from 2003 to 2007, his predecessor in office, Hon Ghali Umar Na’ aba, who served in similar capacity from 1999 to 2003.
Others are, the Senate President during the Second Republic, Joseph Wayas, his counterpart during the Fifth Senate, Ken Nnamani and former Deputy Senate President, Nasir Ibrahim Mantu.
The fellowship award, according to the Director General of NILS, Prof Ladi Hamalai, was in recognition of the positive roles the former presiding officers played while in office in the deepening of democratic practice in the country.
Hamalai specifically commended Hon Masari for the role he played in bringing NILS to being during his tenure as Speaker.

About Taiye Odewale

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *