Lagos PDP elects new leaders

Blueprint Whatsapp

By Jerry Uwah

The Lagos chapter of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has elected Moshood Salvador as chairman of the faction of the party.
Salvador and other executives of the chapter were elected at a closed-door congress held at the King Seliat Hotel, Jibowu, Yaba, Lagos.
The list of the new executives was made available yesterday by the state Publicity Secretary, Taofik Gani.
The other officers are Hassan Waliu, Deputy Chairman; Muiz Dosunmu, Secretary; Kunle Okunola, Organising Secretary; Niyi Adams, Youth Leader; Shola Oladehinbo, Women Leader; and Taofik Gani, Publicity Secretary.
Gani said members of the state congress committee met with leaders of the party in the state and arrived at the consensus, explaining that the five-member committee was headed by Dubem Onyia.
According to Gani, notable leaders at the congress included Adeseye Ogunlewe, Kofoworola Bucknor-Akerele, Tunji Shelle, Jimi Agbaje and Segun Adewale.
“By this consensus, we have concluded our state congress, and in the absence of any appeal resorting to any cancellation, the state PDP executive is set up with official powers to manage the party,’’ he said.
However, Segun Adewale, a former factional chairman of the chapter, said he did not support the process by which the state executives emerged.
According to him, the position of the chairman was unilaterally decided by one leader.
“I and the House of Representative members were against it, but for peace to reign, we allowed them to have their way as usual,’’ Adewale said.
It will be recalled that the chapter’s caretaker committee chairman, Babatunde Solanke, died few weeks ago after slumping in a hotel in Ikeja.
The deceased had scheduled a meeting with some chieftains of the party in the state on the fateful day.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply