Lagos, Nasarawa get new commissioners of police

The Inspector-General of Police, IGP Kayode Egbetokun, has approved the posting of two Commissioners of Police (CPs) to the Lagos and Nasarawa state Police Commands, respectively, pending the approval of the Police Service Commission (PSC).

This is in line with the commitment to foster community ties and ensure inclusive policing,  a press statement by the Force Public Relations Officer (FPRO), ACP Olumuyiwa Adejobi, Tuesday in Abuja, said.

The IGP has charged them with the responsibility to actively engage communities in their respective jurisdictions, the spokesperson added.

He named the newly posted senior police officers as CP Fayoade Adegoke Mustapha, who was deployed to Lagos State Command; and CP Umar Shehu Nadada, to Nasarawa State Command.

“This strategic move is part of the IGP’s ongoing efforts to enhance security and build trust between law enforcement and the public.

“The newly posted senior officers bring a wealth of experience to their new roles and are poised to contribute to the safety and well-being of the residents in Lagos and Nasarawa states,” the statement read in part.

According to the FPRO, “The IGP emphasizes the importance of a collaborative approach to policing, urging the newly appointed CPs to work closely with community leaders and stakeholders to create a safer and more secure environment for all residents.”