INEC declares APC’s Bomai winner of Yobe South senatorial election

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Ibrahim Mohammed Bomai of the All Progressives Congress (APC) winner of the Saturday 15, April election conducted in the Yobe South senatorial district.

The INEC Returning Officer, Dr. Abatcha Melemi, of the Federal University Gashua, announced the result in Potiskum amid tight security.

The returning officer said his mandate of the exercise was to declared the results and return the elected candidate.

He noted that the elections was contested as the candidate received the following votes; “Senator Bomai Ibrahim Mohammed of APC scored 69,596 votes, Abubakar Halilu of PDP scored 68,885, and Isa Inusa of NNPP Scored 3,277.

“Yarima Adamu of ADC Scored 652,Jauro Ishaku Habila of LP scored 471 and Mai Sambo Barde of YPP scored 448 respectively.

“Bomai Ibrahim Mohammed of APC having certified by the requirement of the law is here by declared the winner and he is return elected”,said the returning Officer Abatcha.

It could be recalled that on Monday 27th February 2023, the INEC Returning Officer Yobe South senatorial district, Prof. Shettima Saidu of Federal University Gashua declared the Yobe South Senatorial District election inconclusive.

He said the leading candidates, Ibrahim Bomai of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and Halilu Mazagane of the Peoples Democratic Party,(PDP) scored 69,417 and 68,800 respectively.

Saidu, however, said the lead margin of 617 votes between the candidates was less than the total votes cancelled in the election.

The returning officer revealed that the cancellation was done at Manawaci 003 Polling Unit in Fika Local Government following incidents of over-voting and other irregularities.

“The cancellation was mandatory as the total number of valid votes exceeded the total number of accredited voters in the unit which had 1,118 registered voters.

“Fresh election would subsequently be conducted at the district, but only between Bomoi and Mazagane.

“I want us to get it straight that the difference between the first and second positions is 617 votes. However, we had a total of 1,118 votes cancelled in the process of the election.

“If the difference was higher than the votes cancelled, then we would have declared the winner.

“But, by virtue of Section 4(2)(7) of INEC Manual,where cancelled votes are higher than the lead margin, we can’t declare a winner.”