Ikenne, Sagamu to host NWFL championship in July 

The 2023 NWFL ( Nigeria Women Professional League) Championship is set to kick off in Sagamu and Ikenne simultaneously in Ogun state as revealed by the league governing bodies with dates set for the 7th of July and will run down for a week with twelve teams set to be involved.

In a statement signed by the Chief Operating Officer of the NWFL, Modupe Shabi, the NWFL Championship teams are expected to arrive in Ogun State on Friday with the draws and pre-match meetings slated for July 7.

Match Day One on Saturday, July 8th, would see three matches from Group A and B, while Match Day Two on Sunday, July 9th would witness the same number of three matches.

Monday, July 10th is Rest Day, while Match Day Three holds on Tuesday 11th July with three matches to be played.

Match Day Four holds on Wednesday, July 12th with three matches, and Thursday, July 13th will be observed as the second Rest Day.

Match Day Five holds on Friday 14th July with the last three matches.

The NWFL C.O.O noted that for this year’s Championship, 12 registered clubs will play in Ogun State, adding that at the end of the NWFL Championship on July 14th in Ogun State, two teams with the highest points will be promoted to the NWFL Premiership.

It will be noteworthy to know that; two (2) teams will be promoted to NWFL Premiership League while two (2) teams will be relegated to NWFL Nationwide League.

List of all participating teams; Prince Kazeem Eletu FC, Honey Badgers FC, Kwara Ladies FC, Ekiti Queens FC, Imo Striker Queens FC, Dreamstar Ladies, Sunshine Queens FC, Lakeside Football Academy, Delta Babes FC, Pelican Stars, Dannaz FC, and Moje Queens make up the twelve teams slot.