Group wants president to emerge from South-east in 2023

A social-political group, Igbo Leadership Development Foundation (ILDF), Tuesday, threw its weight behind demand for president of the country to emerge from the South-east geopolitical zone in 2023.

This was contained in an address signed by its leaders, Director-General, Dr Godwin Udibe; Director, Public Affairs, Dr Law Mefor; and Director, Contact & Mobilisation, Comrade Austin Ifedinezi, and made available to newsmen.

 The group also called on the All Progressives Congress (APC), People Democratic Party (PDP) and other political parties to zone their presidential position to the South-East, in the spirit of equity, justice and fairness as the zone is yet to occupy the presidency since the return of democracy on May 29, 1999, and will be unfair for power to remain in the North after eight years.

It said: “The simple reason is that the South East is the only geopolitical zone in Southern Nigeria that has not produced a President for the country in present democratic dispensation and the zone producing Nigeria’s President will no doubt, usher in unity and healing in the land and end the lingering mistrust caused by the Nigeria civil war.

“We therefore believe in rotation as a democratic process that will ensure political inclusivity and reduce the rancor associated with elections as well as cut down costs of electioneering by narrowing candidature to particular zones in each election circle.”

Meanwhile, the group made its position clear on Anambra governorship ahead of 2021 gubernatorial election, which it said the two other senatorial zones, Anambra Central and Anambra North respectively have produced governors who were in power for 11 years and eight years respectively after the second term of the current Governor, Willie Obiano, hence power should shift to Anambra-South in the spirit of equity.

“The attention of Igbo Leadership Development Foundation (ILDF) has been drawn to the unwholesome moves by some politicians to truncate the beautiful rotation arrangement of governorship position in Anambra state.

“The argument of these people is that governorship has moved round the three senatorial zones in State, and the chips therefore should fall where they may starting from 2021 governorship election in the state. 

“For the avoidance of doubt, Their Excellencies Dr. Chinwoke Mbadinuju (Anambra South), Dr. Chris Nwabueze Ngige and Mr. Peter Gregory Obi (Anambra Central) and currently Chief Willie Obiano (Anambra North) have all governed Anambra State in the order.

Matched content

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.