FG reveals when varsities’ governing councils will be inaugurated

The Governing Councils of Federal universities, polytechnics and other tertiary institutions will be inaugurated on July 4, 2024.

The Acting Vice Chancellor of the University of Abuja, Prof. Aisha Maikudi, made this known while giving her acceptance speech on Monday, while assuming the affairs of the institution.

A total of 560 individuals were appointed to the governing councils and boards of Federal Government-owned tertiary institutions.

President Bola Tinubu approved the reconstitution of the Governing Councils and Boards of federal universities, polytechnics and colleges of education.

In an earlier statement, the Permanent Secretary, General Services, Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Nnamdi Mbaeri, noted that the approval was given for the effective management of Nigerian tertiary institutions across the country.

For the University of Ibadan, the President appointed Chief Bisi Akande as the Chairman of the governing council. The board members are Alexander Ajipe, Nelson Alapa, Ifeoma Nwankwo, and Prof. Emmanuel Alo.

Chief Wole Olanipekun (SAN) was appointed as the Chairman of the governing council of the University of Lagos. The council members are Bello Kumo, Prof. Idowu Mark, Niyi Akande, and Bola Njoku

Isa Yuguda chairs the board of the National Open University. The council members are Goddy Etta, Yomi Balogun, Deborah Apah, and Hingah Biem.

Siyan Oyeweso was appointed to head the governing council of Obafemi Awolowo University, while Edward Sarki; Joseph Abaagu; Wahaab Owokoniran, and Abubakar Kachaalla are members of the council.

Adebayo Shittu, Muiz Banire, and Senator Florence Ita Giwa were appointed as the chairpersons of the governing boards for David Umahi University of Medicine in Ebonyi State, Federal University of Transportation in Katsina State, and Federal Polytechnic in Ugep, Cross River State, respectively among others.