FG inaugurates 28-man committee on activities to mark Tinubu’s one-year anniversary

The federal government has inaugurated a 28-man inter-ministerial committee on activities to mark the one-year in office of President Bola Ahmed Tinubu.

The Committee is to be chaired by the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Mr. George Akume.

Members are the Chief of Staff to the President, Mr. Femi Gbajabiamila; Head of Civil Service of the Federation, Dr. Folasade Yemi-Esan; Minister of Information and National Orientation, Mohammed Idris; Minister of FCT, Nyesom Wike; Minister of Finance and Coordination Minister of the Economy, Wale Edun; Minister of Defence, Mohammed Badaru Abubakar; Minister of Agriculture and Food Security, Senator Abubakar Kyari; Minister of Solid Mineral Development, Dele Alake; Minister of Power, Adebayo Adelabu; Minister of Works, Dave Umahi; and the Minister of Interior, Olubunmi Tunji-Ojo;

Others include the Minister of Health, Prof. Ali Pate; Minister of Women Affairs, Mrs. Uju Kennedy-Ohanenye; Minister of Youth Development, Dr. Jamila Bio-Ibrahim; Special Adviser to the President on Policy and Coordination; Hadiza Bala-Usman; Senior Special Assistant to the President on Social Events, Princess Atika Ajanah; and the Permanent Secretary, Political and Economic Affairs Office.

Others are the Chief of Defence Staff, Gen. Christopher Musa; the Chief of Army Staff, Lt.-Gen. Taoreed Lagbaja; the Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Hasan Bala Abubakar; the Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Emmanuel Ogalla; the Inspector-General of Police, Kayode Egbetokun; the Commandant of the Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps, Dr. Ahmed Abubakar Audi; the chairman of Federal Revenue Inland Service, Dr. Zacch Adedeji; Permanent Secretary, State House, Engr. Olufunso Adebiyi; the Permanent Secretary, General Services Office, Dr. Nnamdi Maurice Mbaeri; and the Permanent Secretary, Political and Economic Affairs Office, Richard Pheelangwa.              

The Committee is mandated to, among other things, plan and execute all approved activities for the first anniversary celebration of President Tinubu; co-opt any organisation or person relevant to the execution of the anniversary and to carry out any assignment that may be required for the success of the anniversary.

Speaking at its inauguration, the SGF said the celebration was premised on the need to render accountability to Nigerians on the achievements of the present administration and to reassure them of its commitment to deliver on the Renewed Hope Agenda.

“Distinguished members, the essence of this celebration is to render accountability to Nigerians by promoting the accomplishments of the present administration over the past year and also reassure our citizens that government shall remain focused and committed to the the implementation of the Renewed Hope Agenda for positive impact on the socio-economic life of Nigerians,” he said.

The approved activities for the anniversary are as: Press Briefing on May 22, 2024; Sectoral Updates from May 23-24, 2024; First Lady’s Programme from May 25-27, 2024; National Discourse  on May 27, 2024; Presidential Launch Renewed Hope Infrastructure Development Fund (RHIDF) and Media Parley on May 28, 2024 and the celebration will be climaxed with National Broadcast,  Mini Parade (BoG) and State Anniversary Dinner on May 29, 2024.

In order to ensure successful and hitch-free celebration, the SGF inaugurated 11 sub-committees including Church Service sub-Committee, Juma’at sub-Committee, Protocol sub-Committee, Venue and Entertainment Sub-Committee, Medical sub-Committee, Security sub-Committee, Media and Publicity sub-Committee, Parade sub-Committee, Public Lecture/Symposium sub-Committee, Accommodation sub-Committee and Secretariat sub-Committee.