Ex-Senate Leader, Folarin, wins Oyo central senatorial seat

Former Senate Leader Mr Teslim Folarin has emerged winner of the Oyo Central senatorial district, according to result announced Monday by the INEC.

Folarin, who contested on the platform of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), defeated the incumbent senator, Mrs Monsurat Sunmonu, and other contestants in the election which took place in the 11 local government areas in the district.

Folarin won in six local government areas out of eleven local governments in the area.

Folarin, who was in the senate between 2003 and 2011, on the platform of PDP won in six out of 11 local government areas. He won in Oluyole, Ọna-Ara, Egbeda, Surulere, Ogo-Oluwa and Lagelu.

He scored 91,080 votes to defeat his close rival Chief Oyebisi Ilaka of the PDP, who secured 83,600 votes.

Other results announced in Moniya, headquarters of Akinyele local government area in Ibadan, the collation centre of the district, were: ADC 41, 654, ADP 41, 377 and ZLP 6593.

The returning officer, Professor Idowu Peter Farai, announced that Folarin has fulfilled election requirements hence was declared the winner.

“Teslim Folarin of APC having certified the requirement of the law is hereby declared the winner of the Oyo Central Senatorial Elections.”

Leave a Reply