EFCC taskforce nabs 34 currency speculators in Abuja

Operatives of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) attached to the Taskforce on Currency mutilation, Dollarisation of the Economy and Forex Malpractice, have arrested 34 suspected currency speculators for alleged foreign exchange fraud.

A press statement by EFCC Head, Media & Publicity, Dele Oyewale, said they were arrested in a sting operation following credible intelligence about illegal sales of dollars at the Wuse Zone 4 area of the FCT.

The suspects are: Usman Mohammed, Abdullahi Nasir, Abubakar Saleh, Mohammed Kabir Ibrahim, Abubakar Ghadafi, Muktar Usman, Umar Abubakar Abba, Yakubu Sani, Aminu Abubakar, Muhammed Suleman Abara, and Yusuf Tahir.

Others include: Usman Lawal, Usman Lawal, Usman Umar, Amina Garba Rola, Muhammed Aliyu, Murtala Haruna, Sani Mohammed, Umar Farouk, Muhammed Sagiuru, Aminu Salisu, Lawal Bello, Munzali Hashim, Jamilu Suleiman, and Mustapha Umar.

Others are: Mubarak Tanimu, Adamu Garba, Mohammed Usman, Bello Musa, Saleh Mohammed Naseer, Zaharadeen Yau, Musa Umaru Adamu, Usman Machido and Abdulaziz Abubakar Abba.

He said their arrest came on the heels of the EFCC’s consistent efforts to sanitise and stabilise the foreign exchange market, adding that they would soon be arraigned in court upon conclusion of investigations