CBN releases names of licensed banks with int’l, national, regional, authorisations

The Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) has released a comprehensive list of licensed banks with various authorisations.

The apex bank made this public in a post on its official website on Tuesday.

According to CBN, seven banks, including Zenith Bank, Access Bank, First Bank, First City Monument Bank, United Bank of Africa, Fidelity, and Guaranty Trust Bank, have Commercial Banking licenses with international authorisation as of April 26, 2024.

Also, 15 banks have commercial banking licenses with National Authorisation.

Four banks have commercial banking licenses with regional authorisation and four non-interest banks have national authorisation.

The bank said the country has six merchant banks licensed with national authorisation.

It stated that financial holding companies increased to seven.

CBN added that the country has a Mauritius commercial bank representative office.

The list comes months after the CBN raised the minimum capital requirement for all banks in Nigeria to strengthen the country’s financial sector.

Banks with international authorisation: are Access Bank Limited,, Fidelity Bank Plc,, First City Monument Bank Limited,, First Bank Nigeria Limited,, Guaranty Trust Bank Limited,, United Bank of Africa Plc, and Zenith Bank Plc.

Commercial banks with national authorisation: are Citibank Nigeria Limited, Ecobank Nigeria Limited, Heritage Bank Plc, Globus Bank Limited, Keystone Bank Limited, Polaris Bank Limited, Stanbic IBTC Bank Limited, Standard Chartered Bank Limited, Sterling Bank Limited, Titan Trust Bank Limited, Union Bank of Nigeria Plc, Unity Bank Plc, Wema Bank Plc, Premium Trust Bank Limited and Optimus Bank Limited.

Commercial banks with regional licenses: are Providus Bank Limited, Parallex Bank Limited, Suntrust Bank Nigeria Limited, and Signature Bank Limited.

Players in the non-interest banking sector with national authorisation are Jaiz Bank Plc,, Taj Bank Limited, Lotus Bank Limited, and Alternative Bank Limited.

List of Marchant Banking Licence with National Authorization are Coronation Merchant Bank Limited, FBN Merchant Bank Limited, FSDH Merchant Bank Limited, Greenwich Merchant Bank Limited, Nova Merchant Bank Limited, and Rand Merchant Bank Limited.