CAF Player of the Year: Barcelona hail Oshoala for making final 3 Ighalo loses to Salah, Mane, Mahrez

Spanish giant, Barcelona Football Club have hailed their Nigerian talismanic striker Asisat Oshoala after she made the final shortlist for the 2019 CAF Women’s Player of the Year award for the fourth time running.
The final three shortlist was unveiled by CAF’s on Sunday. 

Oshoala will go up against Njoya Ajara of Cameroon and current holder Thembi Kgatlana of South Africa.
“Asisat Oshoala, among three finalists of the African Player of the Year award. Go Zee!” Barcelona Ladies Twitter handle wrote.
Oshoala has won the Player of the Year award three times, in 2014, 2016 and 2017.
She was on target for Barcelona Ladies in their 3-1 home win against Tenerife to go five points clear of Atletico Madrid.
Meanwhile, former Super Eagles hotshot Odion Ighalo has been dropped from the final shortlist of the 2019 Africa Player of the Year award after it was reduced to three.

Egypt’s Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane of Senegal and Algeria’s Riyad Mahrez, are the three players who made the shortlist after CAF make the Final 3 nominees public on Sunday
In the Youth Player of the Year category, Nigerian youngsters Osimhen and Samuel Chukwueze are still in the running.
They are joined by Morocco and Borussia Dortmund’s Achraf Hakimi as the three players left in the race for the award.
Former Super Falcons handler Thomas Dennerby made the Women’s Coach of the Year final list.

Dennerby, who is now the head coach of India’s U-17 women’s team, will square off against Desiree Ellis of South Africa and Alain Djeumfa of Cameroon.
In the Women’s Player of The Year shortlist, Asisat Oshoala will hope to land her fourth title after making the final shortlist.
She will with South Africa’s Thembi Kgatlana and Njoya Ajara from Cameroon.
And while Nigeria is still in the race for the Women’s Team of the Year category, the country missed out for the men.
The final phase of voting for the men’s and women’s African Player of the Year, as well as the male and female Coach of the Year, was selected by Head Coaches/Technical Directors and Captains of senior national teams from CAF member associations.

The winners will be announced during the ceremony to be held on Tuesday, January 7, 2020 in Hurghada, Egypt.

Matched content

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.