Buhari rejects 17 bills, assents to 9 others

Buhari at the second term swearing in event

President Muhammadu has rejected additional 17 bills out of 318 passed by the  8th National Assembly. The president, however, assented to 9 others also among the entire 318 bills passed.

The Senior Special Assistant to the President on National Assembly Matters (Senate), Senator Ita Enang made this known Wednesday at a media briefing.

Enang at the briefing held at the Senate Press Centre said Mr President decided not to communicate with the 9th Assembly on the rejections of those bills because the new assembly cannot take any decision on those rejected bills.

He, however, promised to engage the leadership of both chambers on the rationale behind the rejection of the bills.

He said the current assembly cannot take action by way of commenting or   overriding any of the rejected bills because the law forbade the lawmakers to do so.

The 17 rejected bills are Adeyemi Federal University of Education (Establishment) Bill; Federal University of Education Kano Bill; Alvan Ikoku Federal University of Education Bill; Federal University of Education Zaria Bill; National Security Agencies Protection of Officers Identity Bill; Federal Capital Territory Emergency Management Agency Bill; and Environmental Managers Registration Council of Nigeria Bill.

Others are Industrial Development Income Tax Act Amendment Bill; Defence Research and Development Bureau Bill; Animal Diseases Control Bill; Good Samaritans Bill; Chattered Institute of Directors of Nigeria Bill; National Institute of Hospitality and Tourism Establishment Bill; Federal University of Wukari (Establishment) Bill; Warehouse Receipt and Other Related Matters Bill; Federal Capital Territory Health Insurance Agency Bill; Nigeria Automative Industry Development Plant Fiscal Incentive and Guarantees Bill; Nigerian Film Commission Bill; and Proceeds of Crime Bill.

The nine  bills assented  to by President are Police Trust Fund Act; Nigeria Natural Medicine Establishment Act; FCT Management Board and Health Insurance Bill; Suppression of Piracy and other Maritime Defence Bill; and  Institute of Transport Administration of Nigeria Bill.

Others are National Institute of Construction Technology and Management (Establishment) Bill; National Agricultural Seed Council Bill; Agriculture Credit Guarantee Scheme Fund (Amendment); and FCT Primary Healthcare Board Bill.

Matched content

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.