Buhari appoints new AG, FRC Chairman

President Muhamnadu Buhari has appointed Mr Aghughu Arthotomhenla as Auditor General of the Federation just as he also nominated Barrister Victor Chinemerem Muruako as Chairman of the Fiscal Responsibility Commission (FRC).

The new appointments made by the President were contained in a statement issued to that effect on Tuesday  by his  Senior Special Assistant on National Assembly Matters (Senate), Senator Babajide Omoworare .

Omoworare in the statement said the two appointments made by the President , are subject to Senate Confirmation and letters  of requests to that effect have been forwarded to the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, by President Buhari.

The statement titled: “President Buhari appoints Aghughu as the Auditor-General of the Federation “, reads : ” President Muhammadu Buhari has nominated Mr. Aghughu Arhotomhenla Adolphus for appointment as the Auditor-General of the Federation pursuant to Section 86(1) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (as amended). 

“Mr. Aghughu has been acting as the Auditor-General since the voluntary retirement of Mr. Anthony Mkpe Ayine from service upon attainment of the mandatory retirement age of 60 (sixty) years on 25th October 2020. 
“The Auditor-General designate hails from Edo State and holds a master’s degree in economics; he is a Fellow of the Association of National Accountants of Nigeria, Member of the Nigerian Institute of Management and Associate member of Chartered Institute of Taxation. He became an Auditor in the Office of the Auditor-General in 1992 and was promoted to the rank of Director of Audit in January 2016. 

“In a related development, the President has also nominated Barr. Victor Chinemerem Muruako for appointment as Chairman for the Fiscal Responsibility Commission in accordance with provision of section 5(3) of the Fiscal Responsibility Act 2007. 

“Barr. Muruako, a legal practitioner, had served as the Secretary to the Fiscal Responsibility Commission and currently acts as the Chairman of the Commission. He is from Imo State. 
“Both letters of nomination have been forwarded to the Senate President, Senator Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan for confirmation by the Senate!”

Leave a Reply