Breaking: Bauchi governor sends commissioner-nominees’ list to assembly for screening 

Bauchi state governor, Bala Mohammed, has submitted 23 names to the State House of Assembly for screening and confirmation for appointment as commissioners. 

Blueprint reports that the 23 nominees cut across all the 20 local government areas of the state.

The speaker of the assembly, Abubakar Suleiman, who disclosed this during a special session of the assembly on Monday, said the governor requested the house to “screen and confirm nominees for appointment as Commissioners and Members of the State Executive Council in line with the provision of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (as amended).”

The nominees include Maiwada Bello and Ibrahim Gambo both from Alkaleri local government; Mahmoud Babamaji Abubakar and Danlami Ahmed Kawule from Bauchi local government; Tsammani Lydia Haruna from Bogoro local government; Ahmed Sarki Jalam from Dambam local government; Yakubu Ibrahim Hamza from Darazo local government; Usman Santuraki from Dass local government; Abdul Hassan from Ganjuwa local government; Muhammad Salees from Gamawa local government and Dr. Yakubu Adamu from Giade local government. 

Other nominees are Usman Abdulkadir Moddibo from Jama’are local government; Hajara Jibrin Gidado Itas-Gadau local government; Hon. Farouk Mustapha from Katagum local government; Hajara Yakubu Wanka from Kirfi local government; Aminu Hammayo from Misau local government.

The rest are Hassan El-Yakub (SAN) from Ningi local government; Muhammad Hamisu from Shira local government; Silas Madugu and Abubakar Abdulhamid Bununu both from Tafawa Balewa local government; Jamila Muhammad Dahiru and Dr. Adamu Umar Sambo both from Toro local government; Abdulrazak Nuhu Zaki from Warji local government and Amina Muhammad Katagum from Zaki local government. 

Already, the house has scheduled the screening of the commissioner nominees on August 2 and 4, 2023.