Aregbesola’s ally, 2 women among commissioner-nominees in Osun

Two aides of a former Minister of Interior, Rauf Aregbesola, Kolapo Alimi and Biyi Odunlade have made the list of commissioner-nominees presented to the House of Assembly by Governor Ademola Adeleke of Osun state.

Alimi served as commissioner for local government and chieftaincy affairs while Odunlade served as special adviser on Youth and Sport and later commissioner for special duties.

The duo of Alimi and Odunlade has been members of the defunct factional group of the APC, ‘The Osun Progressives (TOP), and die-hard supporters of Aregbesola.

The unresolved hostility between Aregbesola and his successor, Adegboyega Oyetola, led to the defection of Alimi to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) before the 2022 governorship election.

The speaker of the House of Assembly, Adewale Egbedun, announced the names of commissioner-nominees as forwarded by Governor Adeleke.

A former Chief of Staff to Olagunsoye Oyinlola, Adeyemo Ademola, and former state chairman of the PDP, Gani Olaoluwa, also made the list.

Others were: Barr. Oladosu Babatunde; Bayo Ogungbangbe; Sesan Oyedele; Soji Ajeigbe; Moshood Olagunju; George Alabi; Sunday Oroniyi; Abiodun Ojo; Dr. Basiru Salami; Morufu Ayofe; Sola Ogungbile, and Rev. Bunmi Jenyo.

Two women, Ayo Awolowo and Adenike Adeleke, made the list while others are Barr. Wole Jimi-Bada; Dipo Eluwole; Rasheed Aderibigbe; Professor Morufu Adeleke; Barrister Jola Akintola; Mayowa Adejorin, and Tola Faseru.

A statement by the press secretary to the speaker, Olamide Tiamiyu, indicated that the House of Assembly had set up an ad-hoc committee to conduct a preliminary screening of the nominees before they would appear before the House for full screening and confirmation.