APC’s Tinubu wins 24 Oyo LGAs

The presidential candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has won all the 24 of the 33 local government areas so far declared by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC). 

Announcing the results at the INEC headquarters in Ibadan, Prof. Babatunde Olushola, Acting Vice Chancellor, Federal University of Agriculture (FUNAAB), Abeokuta gave details as Ibadan North West: APC 13,078, PDP 6,011; Kajola: APC 11,917; PDP 9,358; Atisbo: APC 7,928; PDP 4,031; Lagelu: APC 16,011; PDP 5,112; Itesiwaju: APC 6,180; PDP 4,948, and Afijio among others.

Similarly, the presidential candidate of the Labour Party (LP) Peter Obi is leading in eight out of the nine local government areas in the presidential election results so far released by the Independent Electoral Commission (INEC).

The State Collation Officer and Vice Chancellor, University of Uyo,  Professor Nyaudoh Ndaeyo, who declared the results on Sunday said the LP won  in eight  of the nine local governments so far collated.

The  local governments where the LP candidate won are: Igueben, Esan Central, Esan North East, Egor, Esan South East, Esan West, Uhunwode and Orhionmwon.

Besides, the results showed that Peter Obi defeated by wide margin, his fellow contestants, Bola Tinubu and Atiku Abubakar both of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), respectively.

The APC however won in Owan West local government area as its candidate, Bola Tinubu polled 9,322 votes to defeat his closest rival, Peter Obi of LP who scored 6,112.

About Bayo Agboola, Ibadan and Patrick Ahanor, Benin city

View all posts by Bayo Agboola, Ibadan and Patrick Ahanor, Benin city →