10th Senate: APC settles for zoning, Barau, Kalu, Akpabio top list 


As Ramadan draws to a close in few days time, the All Progressives Congress (APC) as stated last week by the spokesman of the Senate, Ajibola Basiru, will announce zoning of the four presiding positions for the 10th National Assembly  

The four presiding positions are President of the Senate, Deputy President of the Senate, Speaker of the House of Representatives and Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives. 

For the Senate Presidency, highly placed source within APC  disclosed that the party will take a position before the clamour for the plum job  degenerates  to the point of confusion and disagreements among stakeholders.

Blueprint reports that a former governor of Abia state and Chip Whip of the Senate, Orji Uzor Kalu from the South-east and Senator Godswill Akpabio from Akwa Ibom in the South-south are top contenders to the plum office.

According to the sourc , since zoning is a political issue, decision on it is most likely to tilt towards who brought what to the table during the election that led to the victory of President and Vice President – elect. 

“You know that if we leave this zoning open for debates for too long, all kinds of interest will emerge, and there might be alliances that will not support the position of our party.

“We will therefore move latest by mid week to decide where the pendulum swings before there will be recourse to primordial sentiments such as religion and ethnicity. 

“The focus will be more on performances of the zones for the APC flag bearers during the election since there  will be no jostling for positions if we did not win election,” said the source.

It will be recalled that the North West contributed most to the making of Tinubu as president, and there being considered to be most favoured in the zoning arrangement.

The very top contender from the zone is Senator Barau Jibrin, who will be in the National Assembly, the fourth time, three as Senator and one, previously as a Representative between 1999 and 2003, all from Kano State.

UNI Agric Markurdi
Blueprint Whatsapp